Carroll County General Election officially set

Bonita Williams

Several new candidates have filed for office for the Carroll County General Election to be held on Nov. 3.

While the Carroll County Republican Committee held its primary on May 16, Democrats and Independents still had until June 9 to file. Among the candidates not previously covered in prior articles in The Carroll News include Independent candidate Barbara A. Fadden for the Clerk of Court, bringing the total number of candidates to five in that race.

Independent candidate C. L. “Chris” Toney also officially submitted his paperwork to run for sheriff, bringing the total number of candidates to three for the constitutional office. Meanwhile, Bonita M. Williams, who was not eligible for the Republican Primary this year because she failed to meet a requirement of the Republican Committee’s by-laws, has filed as an Independent. She is the only candidate listed for Treasurer.

Other Constitutional Officers who will run unopposed include Commonwealth’s Attorney Nathan H. Lyons (Republican) and Commissioner of Revenue Fran A. McPherson (Republican).

In the Carroll County Board of Supervisors’ races, two of the three seats will be uncontested as Republicans Robert L. “Robbie” McCraw and R.J. “Bob” Martin were the only candidates to file for the Supervisor At Large and Pine Creek District races, respectively. Incumbent supervisor David V. Hutchins will have competition in the Sulphur Springs District, however, as Independent Rex. L. Hill has filed to run.

Two incumbent school board members will run uncontested as no one filed to run against Olen L. Gallimore in the Pine Creek District or Reginald M. Gardner in the Sulphur Springs District. A pair of Independents, David L. Frazier and Cynthia “Cindy” Webb” will also vie for the position of Soil and Water Conservation Director, New River District.

Candidate List for November, 2015

(Candidates are listed alphabetically-order to be determined by Department of Elections)

Shared Constitutional Offices:

Clerk of Court

James A. Alderman, Jr. – I

Barbara A. Fadden – I

Gerald R. Goad – D

B. P. “Phil” Hawks – R

James W. “Jay” McCraw – I

Commonwealth’s Attorney

Nathan H. Lyons – R


John B. “J. B.” Gardner – R

Shannon Dale Goad – I

C. L. “Chris” Toney – I

Other Constitutional Offices:

Commission of Revenue

Fran A. McPherson – R


Bonita M. Williams – I

District Offices:

Member, Board of Supervisors, At Large

Robert L. “Robbie” McCraw – R

Member, Board of Supervisors, Pine Creek District

R. J. “Bob” Martin, Jr. – R

Member, School Board, Pine Creek District

Olen L. Gallimore – I

Member, Board of Supervisors, Sulphur Springs District

Rex L. Hill – I

David V. Hutchins – R

Member, School Board, Sulphur Springs District

Reginald M. Gardner – I

Soil and Water Conservation Director, New River District

David L. Frazier – I

Cynthia “Cindy” Webb – I